A Brighter Beat - 15th Anniversary Edition


Originally released on 25th February 2007, Malcolm Middleton’s third solo album and first for Full Time Hobby is being made available on vinyl once more for its 15th anniversary. Only ever released on black vinyl in limited numbers around the original release, this updated version has been re-cut to optimise sound quality and pressed to natural / clear vinyl, includes liner notes from broadcasting legend Colin Murray, and is presented in a high-quality gatefold sleeve with updated art from David Shrigley. Also available is a very special Dinked Archive edition featuring an alternative sleeve, again by David Shrigley, obi strip, silver vinyl and an exclusive 7” featuring three b-sides from the original sessions (Point of Light, Pick Me Up, Black Marks) limited to 500. This 15th anniversary edition will be released 6th May 2022.  

Buy here.

Digital Deluxe tracklist: 

Part 1

  1. We’re All Going to Die
  2. Fight Like the Night
  3. A Brighter Beat
  4. Death Love Depression Love Death
  5. Fuck It, I Love You
  6. Stay Close Sit Tight
  7. Four Cigarettes
  8. Somebody Loves You
  9. Up Late At Night Again
  10. Superhero Songwriters

Part 2

  1. Cheer Down
  2. Point of Light *
  3. Black Marks *
  4. Pick Me Up *
  5. A Brighter Beat (Home Demo)
  6. Four Cigarettes (Home Demo)
  7. Stay Close Sit Tight (Home Demo)
  8. Superhero Songwriters (Home Demo)
  9. We’re All Doing To Die (Home Demo) 

(* = also included on the Dinked 7”)


Release date